Students Honored at SPS Awards Ceremony

Posted by Allison Leach on Jun 7, 2016 4:30:00 PM
L-to-R: Melinda Odenkirk, Linda Meehan, Chanel Mariette, Kristina Henriksen, Katie Davenport

The School of Professional Studies (SPS) recently held an Awards ceremony to honor the academic achievements of students in the Bachelor of Professional Studies (BPS) program. The ceremony recognized the SPS’ Spring 2016 graduates, as well as those students who were named to the Dean’s List or Honor Roll for the Spring semester.  Highlights of the event included the induction of several BPS candidates into the Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society - facilitated by Dean Godfrey Gibbison - and the presentation of the Faculty Award.

Dean Godfrey Gibbision with Alpha Sigma Lambda inductee Kristina Henriksen

Alpha Sigma Lambda was established at Northwestern University in 1946, as a means of recognizing and encouraging the scholastic achievements of adult students. The society has since grown to over 300 chartered chapters across the United States, and is the largest chapter-based honor society that serves both full-time and part-time students. For induction into Alpha Sigma Lambda at the College of Charleston, students must be at least 24 years of age, have a current GPA of 3.2 or higher, and have earned a minimum of 24 credit hours at the CofC. 

CofC students who have earned 12 or more credit hours with at least a 3.75 GPA are automatically named to the Dean’s List. Those who have earned 12 or more credit hours with at least a 3.5 GPA are named to the Honor Roll. Part-time students may also be named to the Honor Roll if they have earned at least 15 credit hours at the CofC with a 3.5 overall GPA.

The Faculty Award is an annual honor designated specifically for BPS students, and recognizes a student who has displayed exemplary leadership, scholarship, and character throughout the school year.  The Faculty Award recipient is selected from among those enrolled in the capstone course PRST 400.

L-to-R: Godfrey Gibbison, Catherine Hamilton, Carla Stewart

The SPS student awards ceremony, held at the culmination of both the Fall and Spring semesters, reflects the SPS’ dedication to supporting non-traditional students, and holding them to the same rigorous academic standard as any College of Charleston student. Although not all honorees were able to attend the event held on May 5, 2016, the SPS faculty and staff would like to publicly congratulate them for their impressive achievements, and encourage them to continue to pursue excellence in the years to come.

L-to-R: Michelle Brew, Shannae Christy, Godfrey Gibbison
L-to-R: Michelle Brew, Brittany Baber, Godfrey Gibbison


Bachelor of Professional Studies,
Spring 2016 Graduates: 
Brian Demos
Julie Floyd
Courtney Holmes


Faculty Award Recipient:
Catherine Hamilton


Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society Inductees:

Brittany Baber
Shannae Christy
Katie Davenport
Kristina Henriksen
Dean’s List:
Katie Davenport  
Laura Edwards  
Chanel Mariette  
Melinda Odenkirk  
Kristina Henriksen    
Linda Meehan 
Honor roll:
Kalolaine Hokafonu
Michelle Brew  
Michael Bordner  
Dana Croft   
MaryNell Goolsby-Sweat  
Brittany Baber  
Sacia Washington
Jeanne Condon  
Shannae Christy  
Travis Hazzard  
Andrew Kay  
Julie Floyd 


To learn more about the Bachelor of Professional Studies program, and the College of Charleston chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, please contact the School of Professional Studies.

Topics: Student, Events

About the SPS

The School of Professional Studies is your partner on the journey toward a more fulfilling future. We are accessible, flexible, creative and tenacious. We work hard to provide access to the education you need to build a brighter future for yourself and in turn, for our community.

Subscribe to Email Updates

Recent Posts